Virtual Spring Luncheon

The Scaffold Effect

Wednesday, May 19
12:00 PM EDT


With the ongoing stresses of the coronavirus pandemic, it’s more important than ever for children, teens and young adults to be emotionally resilient and flexible. But how can parents encourage their kids to cope with tough emotions, grow from their mistakes and seek out new challenges?

The Scaffold Effect by Harold S. Koplewicz, MD

This year’s virtual Spring Luncheon will feature Child Mind Institute President Harold S. Koplewicz, MD, and Ali Wentworth — actress, comedian, author, producer and mother — discussing the “scaffold parenting” theory at the heart of Dr. Koplewicz’s new book, The Scaffold Effect: Raising Resilient, Self-Reliant and Secure Kids in an Age of Anxiety. Every dollar raised from this event will support the Child Mind Institute’s efforts to advance children’s mental health through clinical and community care, public education and scientific research.

Reserve your virtual table or tickets below

Examples of how your gift can make a difference:

Virtual Tables:

Each table comes with 10 tickets to a private Zoom room prior to the main event and optional copies of The Scaffold Effect*

$15,000 – Virtual Leader Table

Provides financial aid for three children who would otherwise be unable to access care to receive a full course of treatment at the Child Mind Institute.

$10,000 – Virtual Supporter Table

Allows the School and Community Programs team to develop and translate grief and COVID-19 recovery guides into 10 languages and to distribute the guides to 400 schools.

$5,000 – Virtual Friend Table

Provides a comprehensive mental health and learning evaluation for one child through our Healthy Brain Network study, including information required to request an Individualized Education Plan (IEP) at school.

Virtual Tickets:

Each ticket level comes with 1 ticket and an optional copy of The Scaffold Effect*

$1,000 – Virtual Leader Ticket

Supports the development of free, bilingual evidence-based resources on children’s mental health for educators and families.

$500 – Virtual Supporter Ticket

Allows 10 teachers to participate in an educator stress management workshop.

$300 – Virtual Friend Ticket

Sponsors 12 students to attend a digital social emotional skill-building workshop.


If you cannot attend the event, please consider making a donation to support our work.

A donation amount of your choosing supports the life-changing work of the Child Mind Institute.

*If you would like to receive a copy of The Scaffold Effect, the amount that exceeds the value of the book will be tax-deductible,
subject to any limitations that might otherwise apply.


Christine Mack | Zibby Owens | Debra G. Perelman | Sara Weiner, PhD

Host Committee

Roxanne Bok | Desiree Gruber | Tania Higgins | Tammy Levine | Cia Buckley Marakovits | Lisa and Guy Metcalfe | Heather Ouida | Jil Schaps | Melanie and Adam Smith

as of 4/14/2021

Platinum Sponsor

Moms Don't Have Time To

For questions or to pay by check, wire, stock or your donor advised fund, contact Cristina Pantell at or 646.625.4417.