Visiting Professor Lecture Series

The Child Mind Institute Visiting Professor Lecture Series invites leaders in the field of child and adolescent mental health to talk about the latest research and treatment protocols.

These experts have all conducted important research and have extensive clinical experience. They share their findings and expertise on a broad range of topics from anxiety and depression to temper outbursts and the effectiveness of parent-based treatment.

Specific subjects covered in this year’s series include the pediatric onset of bipolar disorder, nonverbal learning disorder, narcolepsy, the effect of early-life stresses on mental and physical health, and the role of genetic testing in child psychiatry.

Visiting Professor Lectures at the Child Mind Institute are open to the public. They are also available via live webinar. We offer continuing medical education credits for medical professionals. All lectures are on Friday mornings from 9:00 to 10:30am EST and include an open question and answer period.

Upcoming Events in This Series

 

Multimodal Treatment of ADHD – James Swanson, PhD
Friday, September 20, 2019
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Evidence Based Practices – Michael Strober, PhD
Friday, September 27, 2019
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Identity, Awareness, and the Developing Mind – Daniel Siegel, MD
Friday, October 11, 2019
9:00 am – 10:30 am

The Ninth Annual On the Shoulders of Giants Scientific Symposium
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
1:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Mental Health & Transgender Youth – Norman Spack, MD
Friday, October 18, 2019
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Maternal Depression & Development – Jon Posner, MD
Friday, November 15, 2019
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Social Cognition, Learning and Behavior – Nancy Tarshis, MA, MS, CCC-SLP
Friday, December 13, 2019
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Register

Pediatric Anxiety Disorders: From Risk to Remission – Jeff Strawn, MD
Friday, January 17, 2020
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Register

Recent Advances in Noninvasive Brain Stimulation – Paul Croarkin, DO, MS
Friday, February 7, 2020
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Register

Assessing and Managing Suicidal Risk in Teens – David Brent, MD
Friday, March 26, 2020
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Register

Mobile Technologies in Children’s Mental Health – Kathleen Merikangas, PhD
Friday, April 3, 2020
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Register

Emerging Treatments for Tourette Syndrome – Michael Bloch, MD
Friday, May 1, 2020
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Register

ADHD and Substance Use Disorder – Tim Wilens, MD
Friday, May 15, 2020
9:00 am – 10:30 am

Register

 

View the archive of previous talks