Scientific Research Council

This advisory group, led by Dr. Stephen Hinshaw and Dr. Bennett Leventhal, sets the direction for the Child Mind Institute's scientific initiatives.

The Child Mind Institute’s Scientific Research Council is an advisory group composed of some of the nation’s most respected thinkers from leading academic institutions. The Scientific Research Council brings together experimental scientists and clinician-researchers to create a global incubator for collaborative progress in children’s mental health.

Co-chairs Dr. Stephen Hinshaw, Chair of the Department of Psychology at the University of California, Berkeley, and Dr. Bennett Leventhal, Deputy Director of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry at the Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute, University of California, San Francisco, lead a group that sets the direction of Child Mind Institute scientific initiatives, advises on research matters and selects the recipient of the annual Child Mind Institute Distinguished Scientist Award.

See the current membership of the Scientific Research Council in the SRC Directory.